By Saquib Pathan*

A common answer on asked upon “Which cat do you own?” is “A tabby cat.” Okay with that, but which breed? Because, tabby is one of the six patterns normally observed in cats; others are, solid, particolour, calico and bi-colour, colour point, shaded and smoke.

Tabby colour pattern can be observed in almost every breed like Indi Mau, Persians, Classic long hair, Bengals, Maine Coons, Exotic short hair, etc. Tabby means a pattern (usually formed by a darker colour) observed on a solid colour. A short hint to identify if your cat is a tabby or not is it has an ‘M’ type marking on its fore head.

Did you know that colour pattern in cats also affects their temperament? Tabby cats are considered to be more loving and cuddly towards the owners irrespective of carrying wild genes.

Basic five types of tabby patterns can be observed in cats.

  1. Mackerel Tabby
  2. Classic (Blotched) Tabby
  3. Spotted Tabby
  4. Ticked Tabby—Agouti
  5. Patched Tabby

Mackerel Tabby:

Striped, a.k.a. “mackerel,” is the most common tabby pattern. Narrow stripes run parallel on the cat’s body coat, sometimes gently curving, other times breaking up into bars and spots. Mackerel can also be referred to as “tiger” like markings.

Classic (Blotched) Tabby:

The classic tabby cats resemble marble type marking. The markings are thick curving bands in a whirled or swirled pattern with a distinctive mark on each side of the body resembling a bullseye.

Spotted Tabby:

A spotted tabby has spots all over his sides. These spots can be large or small, and sometimes appear to be broken mackerel stripes. They can be round, oval or rosettes. The best example of rosetted tabby is a Bengal cat.

Ticked Tabby—Agouti:

ticked tabby cat does not have the traditional stripes or spots on her body, and may not, at first, seem to be a tabby. However, like all tabbies, this coat pattern has tabby markings on the face and agouti hairs on the body. Little markings can be observed on their limbs. One common example of agouti tabby is a Abyssinian cat.

Patched Tabby:

Patched tabbies, in typical form, have separate patches of brown tabby and red tabby on the same animal. A tortie who also carries the tabby gene is often called a torbie. Patched tabbies can show any one of the above four distinct tabby patterns. The markings are usually more apparent on legs and head.

So the next time someone asks you, “Which cat do you own?”, hopefully you won’t answer it as a tabby cat!

*President, Feline Club of India

Digital Safety for Pets Through Trackers

Pet Industry’s growth is rampant and the numbers are amplifying at an unprecedented rate. All facets of the industry are witnessing a rise in demand for products and services that cater to the needs of pets. Pets in today’s climate, are equivalent to children....

Creating a Pet-Friendly Home: Tips for a Safe Environment

Having a furry buddy in your house can provide endless happiness and company. Whether you are a seasoned pet owner or a new adopter, ensuring your pets have a secure and cosy home is crucial. This book examines the finest ways to create a pet-friendly house, covering...

The Benefits of Regular Vet Check-ups for Pets

Welcoming a pet into your home is a joyous occasion, but it also comes with a great responsibility - ensuring their health and well-being. One crucial aspect of pet care often overlooked by some owners is regular veterinary check-ups. In this article, we will examine...